Google has announced it will not allow the email provider to access data from its Gmail account if it’s not signed in with a Google account.
The move comes after the email service lost its Google+ social network account in September last year, and since then has struggled to recover the accounts.
The company is not disclosing exactly what has caused the account to be lost, but says the loss was due to “the unauthorized disclosure of user information” and the “unauthorized use of a service”.
Google told Gizmodo that the loss will not affect users, nor does it mean that Gmail will be permanently locked down.
It has said that it will work with the service’s “top security team” to make it “more secure”.
“Gmail is a service for everyone, so any unauthorized disclosure, use or disclosure of data will have no impact on your account,” Google said in a statement.
“The Google+ service is a free service that you can use to communicate with your friends and family and to manage your accounts.
If you want to get your account back, you need to sign in with Google’s Google+ account.
If your account is lost, your information will be securely deleted from Google and the Google+ system will not be used to access your account.”
Google+ accounts are used by people to communicate, send and receive email and are a vital part of Google’s social network.
Google said it would be contacting affected users.